JuneteenthKC Parade

JuneteenthKC Parade 2018

This year we have over 50 participants, celebrating the spirit of African-American pride and freedom while marching through the heart of the 18th and Vine District.

Parade Schedule

10:00  - Parade Lineup

12:00 Noon - Parade Begins

2:30 PM - Post-Parade Activities in partnership with Heartland Coalition
Gregg-Klice Community Center (1600 John Buck O'Neil Way)

Free activities and family fun.  Stop by for a $1 snack pack - hot dog, chips and a beverage included.

Parade Route

Grove Park to 19th and Vine.  Majority of the parade will take place on E. 18th Street between Benton Blvd and Vine Street.

JuneteenthKC Parade Route 2018

JuneteenthKC Parade Honorees

Each year the community nominates community members that have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the fields of public education, youth mentorship, social justice, equal opportunity and civil rights.  Meet your honorees for this year!

Grand Marshall


Dr. Mark T. Bedell

Dr. Mark T. Bedell is one of the top young educational leaders in the United States.  His personal, educational and career experiences make him uniquely suited to serve as Superintendent of Kansas City Public Schools in Kansas City, Missouri.  He is a talented, caring teacher and administrator who is doing the hard, systematic work necessary to ensure that every child and every family has an equitable opportunity of making their dreams a reality.

Dr. Bedell has reignited trust in KCPS, sparked a new excitement among families and prompted the must needed focus on equity in order to guarantee that every student has a legitimate shot at success.  His personal, educational ad professional journey prove that this is exactly the type of goal that Dr. Bedell was made to accomplish.  “I’m now in a position to make long-term positive change in my school system,” Dr. Bedell says.  “We’re ready to make the kind of structural, community-wide reforms our students need and deserve.  We’re built for this challenge."

Ms. Juneteenth KC


Melissa Robinson

Mr. JuneteenthKC


Benny Shelby

JuneteenthKC 2018 Official Parade Participants

Elected Officials

Kansas City Councilman Jermaine Reed
Kansas City Councilman Quinton Lucas

Grand Marshal

Dr. Mark T. Bedell

Mr. Juneteenth

Benny Shelby

Ms. Juneteenth

Melissa Robinson

Jr. JuneteenthKC

Savanna Williams

Corporate Sponsors

Coco Key Water Resort
Carter Broadcast Group

Community Groups/Organizations

ASteam Village
Blacks in Government
Buffalo Soldiers
Bruce Watkins Cultural Heritage Center
Black United Front
Sumner Academy Black Alumni
Corvette Connected
E.F.F.E.C.T. (Black Professional Firefighters)
Financial Education Services
Omega Psi Phi
Gates Bar-B-Que
Greater Kansas City Black History Study Group
Kansas City Vette Riders
Kawboys M/C
KC Marching Stallions
KC MLB Royals Urban Youth Academy
Pleasant Green Marching Saints
Gateway High Steppers
Sassy Divaz
KC Outlaws Cheerleaders
Smooth Velocity
Krucial Creations Blaque Krystal’s
Grandview High School Cheerleaders
KC Tornadoes Basketball Team
Kipp Endeavor Academy
Mocha Mom’s Inc. Kansas City
Males to Men
Show Me KC Schools
Show Me Riders Horse Club
Stacy Shaw Law
Twin Citians of Greater Kansas City
United Inner City Services/St. Mark Center
Wayne Miner Post 147
Wyandotte High School Band
Royale Boy Blue
Youth Empowerment Readiness Program, Inc.
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.